top of page
Writer's pictureP&B

Movie Review: Venom.



Tipo: film.

Año: 2018.

Género: Action & Adventure, Drama, Science Fiction & Fantasy.

Puntuación: |IMDb: 7/10.|Rotten Tomatoes 30%.|

Sinopsis:

Investigative journalist Eddie Brock attempts a comeback following a scandal, but accidentally becomes the host of an alien symbiote that gives him a violent super alter-ego: Venom. Soon, he must rely on his newfound powers to protect the world from a shadowy organisation looking for a symbiote of their own.


Review: (DOESN'T CONTAIN SPOILERS.)


Disclaimer: I have never read the comics, I know nothing about the canon and I’m reviewing this film as a comedy even though is not even part of the genres.


If I had to describe this film in a word it would be hilarious. I was laughing the entire time. I know their intention might not have been for every scene to be so bizarre it turned out to be funny but that’s exactly what happened from my POV.


It’s not a “superhero film,” but the origin story of Eddie and Venom. And because of it around 90% of the film is not really action packed and there isn’t a particularly real conflict until the very end (and it gets resolved ridiculously quick in my opinion.)

Some of the CGI was very strange too like when the heads sort of detached to talk to the host and when high frecuencies played it looked terrible compared to everything else.


Reading about the original idea, (it being a mature film targeted to the 18+ audience) I can’t see any of it reflected on the final product and I think that might have been one of the biggest issues with the fans, the film was wrongly marketed. In my opinion, had it been marketed as a comedy of sorts, watching the film wouldn’t have taken anyone by surprise.


If you like absurdly funny films and have no attachment to the original character (like me) it’s a really enjoyable comedy to watch.





2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page